‘Fryderyk Chopin’sPortrait ’, Luigi Isler
1842, agate cameo ‘ISLER’, 
Fryderyk Chopin Muzeum at Fryderyk Chopin
National Institute [M/31], 
photo - Waldemar Kielichowski

The history of competitions in the Music School in Rzeszów.

The Music School in Rzeszów was established in 1944. It was one of the first institutions of this kind in Poland after the 2nd world war. Since the first years of its existence the school has organised regular competitions - firstly for its own students, then their range has been increased to the regional, national and the international ones.


First competition in 1947 - the Contest of Young Talent


                Eminent laureates - students of the music school in Rzeszów at that time:
Adam Harasiewicz - subsequently, the winner of the International Warsaw Chopin Competition in 1955
Kilar - the word-famous composer – the patron of the Music School Complex since 2003

 1980 – the first children's Chopin Piano Competition

 2007 – the 1st All-Poland Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition


2010 – the 1st International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

hist jury2010  

JURY:  Edward Wolanin – Warszawa, Poland
          Zbigniew Raubo – Katowice, Poland

          Oksana Rapita – Lviv, Ukraine
          Mirosław Herbowski - Kraków, Poland


  • Participants age - up to 18 years old
  •  Jury member from abroad


2012 – the 2nd International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

hist jury2012  

JURY:  Magdalena Lisak - Katowice, Poland
          Edward Wolanin – Warszawa, Poland - chairman
          Maria Korecka-Soszkowska - Łódz, Poland

  • Age limit increased to 19 years
  • Outstanding laureates from Poland and from abroad won free participation in Master Classes


2014 – the 3rd International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

hist jury2014  

JURY:  Andrzej Jasiński - Katowice (Poland) - chairman
          Sukyung Shin - Seul (South Korea)
          Edward Wolanin - Warszawa (Poland)
          Radosław Sobczak - Warszawa (Poland)

  • Honorary Patronage of the Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw
  • Age limit increased to 21 years
  • Participants from Europe and from China


2017 – the 4th International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

hist jury2017  


                Andrzej Jasiński (Poland) - Chairman                     

                Maria Korecka-Soszkowska (Poland)
                Izabella Darska Havasi (Hungary)
                Yoon Ju Oh (South Korea)

  • 74 participants from 10 countries of the world (China, South Korea, Czech Republic, Germany, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Hungary, Ukraine)
  • Benfits provided by the Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw under the terms of the NIFC Patronage
  • Alink-Argerich Foundation membership
  • Prizes - recitals in Żelazowa Wola (the Chopin's birth place) and at the Fryderyk Chopin Museum in Warsaw, concert with the Subcarpathian Philharmonic orchestra


 2019 – the 5th International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

hist jury2019  


                Janusz Olejniczak (Poland) - Chairman          

                Mariola Cieniawa (Poland)
                Waldemar Wojtal  (Poland)
                Vincenzo Balzani (Italy)

  • 67 participants from 15 countries around the world (Armenia, Belarus, China and Hong Kong, Estonia, Spain, Japan, South Korea, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Slovenia, Ukraine, Hungary)
  • Competition recommended by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage
  • NIFC patronage, membership in the Alink-Argerich Foundation
  • Cooperation with the PWM publishing house and the "Silesia" Institution of Promotion and Dissemination of Culture in Katowice
  • Prizes -  recitals in Żelazowa Wola (the Chopin's birth place) and at the Fryderyk Chopin Museum in Warsaw, renowned master classes in Poland and Italy.


2022 – the 6th International edition of the Subcarpathian Chopin Piano Competition

plakat 2022 przyciety 40proc  


                Andrzej Jasiński (Poland) - chairman

                Professor Mariola Cieniawa-Puchała (Poland)
                Waldemar Wojtal (Poland)
                Izabella Darska Havasi (Hungary)

  • Due to the pandemic situation in all over the word the Competition was held online. The performances of the participants were avaliable at the YouTube channel during the hearing by the Jury.
  • 66 participants from 7 countries (Germany, Hungary, Lithuania, Russia, South Korea, Ukraine).
  • Benfits provided by the Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw under the terms of the NIFC Patronage.


JSN Epic template designed by JoomlaShine.com